Volunteer believes “every little bit helps”

Pat Evans

Patricia Evans has logged over 650 volunteer hours since September 2012! With her wonderful smile, Pat has helped at Hearts of Gold, the Operations Desk, a field trip with Coalition kids, and more. During this National Volunteer Appreciation Month, we want to celebrate the many ways she has donated her time and her dedication to our residents.

Occupation: Health and Wellness Coach

How did you get involved with the Coalition?
I used to run a homeless program at my church in Alabama with Family Promise. When I moved to Florida, I wanted to again work with homeless individuals.

What was your first impression of the Coalition?
Amazing! All the things the Coalition provides for families and individuals on a daily basis,
and the number of people that the Coalition feeds and provides shelter for each night.

How often and in what capacity do you volunteer?
I volunteer as much as I can. Service is a huge part of my life and giving back in any capacity is what I do. Besides volunteering at the Coalition, I also help people at my church; volunteer with Feeding Children Everywhere, at my school, and at the Maitland Library. Anywhere I find myself and there’s a need, I try to help if I can.

Why do you continue to support the Coalition?
Because I love the people (the staff, workers and clients)! And if I can smile, say or do something that will help brighten someone’s day, why not? It’s free, and not costing me anything to be nice and courteous to someone along the way.

What has surprised you most about working with the Coalition?
All the meals the Coalition has to provide each day. The Coalition works very hard at providing breakfast and dinner for families each day, so they will have something to start their day and a nice meal to come home to, especially the children.

What is your fondest memory of volunteering at the Coalition?
Taking the children to an Orlando Magic game.

What do you wish other people knew about the Coalition?
That every little bit helps! It doesn’t take much for the residents to be happy. They are grateful for all that anyone does to help, because when you put it all together it becomes much more. If you volunteer one or five days, if you donate five dollars or one hundred dollars, the Coalition is grateful. They are grateful for what everybody does to help with this journey.

Tell me about some of the people you’ve met while volunteering at the Coalition.
I have met so many wonderful people (clients and staff), far too many to name! I appreciate the time that I share with each and every one of them. I like seeing the children in VPK. It just brightens up my day to know that they are getting a quality education at the Coalition.

How would someone describe you?
Very helpful, nice and friendly, approachable, a person one can form a great bond with.

What do you do when you aren’t volunteering?
I spend my time reading, working on jigsaw puzzles, walking and enjoying nature, yoga, meditation, and always trying to find a good festival to attend.

What might someone be surprised to know about you?
That I love going horseback riding (I love horses) and I want to own a ranch.

