Employee Spotlight – Meet Melanie Figueroa

Staff 040

We would like to introduce you to Melanie Figueroa, Director of the Coalition’s Center for Women and Families. Melanie was excited to let you know how she spends her workdays at the Coalition and how she and her staff help our residents return to lives of independence.  Please read on!

  • Describe your current role at the Coalition.

I am the Director for the Center of Women and Families (CWF) at Coalition for the Homeless of Central Florida. In my role, I oversee the CWF program, which is a facility that accommodates 240 people.  We serve single women, women with children, single fathers, and intact families.


  • How long have you held this role?

I joined the Coalition in November 2013.

 

  • What is your typical day like?

There really is no “typical day” when working in the social service field; every day can bring something new. That makes my work life pretty interesting! I try to engage with our residents throughout the day, which allows me to learn a little bit about them and their stories. This helps me to identify what their needs are and what services we can provide or refer them to.

 

  • What is the most rewarding aspect of your job?

The most rewarding aspect of my job is when a resident comes up to me super-excited about a job they just landed, or an apartment they were just approved for. It makes them feel as though their hard work has truly paid off. Residents become so thankful to the Coalition for the help we provided, but I always remind them that they could not have achieved very much if it wasn’t for their own hard work. 

 

  • What do you do when you’re not working?

I enjoy spending time with my family outside of work. We are involved in our community’s Little League Baseball and we enjoy spending time at the baseball field for family fun.

 

  • What would you like others to know about the Coalition and/or homelessness?

Coalition for the Homeless is now the largest provider of homeless services in Central Florida. Our goal is to return our residents to self-sufficiency through counseling, job training, and educational programs. Every resident / family is provided a case manager to help develop a plan for self-sufficiency. Also, there are many ways that you can help support our mission. To learn about ways to donate or volunteer, feel free to visit our website.

