Nat’l Domestic Violence Awareness Month 2012

Coalition for the Homeless

With horrible stories of domestic violence in the news as of late, Coalition for the Homeless finds it more important than ever to spread the word that October is National Domestic Violence Awareness Month.

As President Barack Obama stated in his presidential proclamation, “…an average of three women in the United States lose their lives every day as a result of these unconscionable acts… all Americans can play a role in ending domestic violence… This month, let us renew our efforts to support victims of domestic violence in their time of greatest need…”

Domestic violence is a primary contributor of homelessness for single women and those with children. Victims of domestic abuse often flee their homes with only the clothes on their backs.

Coalition for the Homeless offers a Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) Program at both the Women’s Residential and Counseling Center (WRCC) and Center for Women and Families (CWF) that enables us to provide support and empowerment to clients who are victims of crime.

Last year, 75% of the women and children at WRCC were victims of crime, predominately domestic violence. Between both WRCC and the CWF, we provided services to over 950 victims of crime.

As part of the VOCA Program, victims write poetry to express their innermost thoughts and feelings about their past and hope for the future. Below is one written by April, a domestic violence survivor.

Stronger by April

I walk down this path

Unsure and somewhat sad…

I know at the end of this journey…

This time will be the right one.

I am Scared!!

But I know these are all Fears I do know

I don’t want to cry anymore tears…

I am stronger now that I am here (WRCC)

Cause the strength I have is Fearless…

I look at my life

And what a lovely site…

Stronger is who I am!

