One gift for Christmas


“If you could have one thing this Christmas, what would it be?”

Have you ever wondered what the homeless wish for during the holiday season? We asked several clients at our Women’s Residential and Counseling Center (WRCC) what they would wish for, and even we were surprised and touched by the answers we received:

“To be able to provide for my kids, not just at Christmas, but throughout the whole year.” – Anonymous

“To have a home for me and my children.” – Anonymous

“To have a job. The current recession has been very difficult for my son and I. Being college educated, it is somewhat degrading not to be able to provide for my child…I need to be able to provide for my son. He deserves the best of everything.” – Maria

“For my kids to fit in at school and for us to have a place to bring friends.” – Wendy

“For my daughter to be able to have sleepovers.” – Anonymous

“To have a normal Christmas.” – Anonymous

“To have a safe, comfortable place to live.” – Christina

“To fulfill our ‘when we get a house’ list.” – Amy

After reading the comments above, we encourage you to take a look at your own holiday wish list. Is there enough wiggle room on that list to allow you to share with a neighbor in need?  Your gift of time, talent, or resources could mean the start of a brand new life for our clients.

Visit our website to find out about donation and volunteer opportunities.

